Vessel owners can use our site to renew US Coast Guard boat documentation. Use this link to renew boat registration in Louisiana.
Documentation must be renewed every year. Through our site, vessel owners with a “Recreational” endorsement will have the option to renew their documentation for up to five years in advance.
Renewing less than 60 days before the expiration date is recommended. Renewing more than 60 days prior to expiration will issue renewal with a new expiration and issuance date, thus shortening the documentation’s period of validity.
Three primary kinds of vessel documentation that may be re-established are vessels under 100 gross tons, boats between 100 and 1,500 gross tons, and vessels beyond 1,500 gross tons. To register a small commercial cargo vessel, you must complete extra criteria if your paperwork has expired for more than one month. Non-documented boats and recreational vessels that exceed their permitted capacity are subject to extra reinstatement procedures.
Pay Attention to Detail When Completing the Application Form
You don’t want to hurry it. Sign and date the paperwork, then send it in with your payment. When completing the application, pay close attention to the fine print, according to govinfo.gov. Obsessing about little things like how many port calls you made last year or whether or not your vessel has air conditioning is simple. It’s important to put yourself in the officer’s shoes at the Maritime Documentation Center, which reviews and evaluates these documents. If he spots a fault in your application, he will alert you to it. You’ll have to go through the trouble of submitting a revised version of your application and wait for him to review it a second time.
Late to Renew Vessel Documentation?
Vessel owners can renew their documentation up to 30 days after the expiration date.
§ 67.517 Application for late renewal. An application fee is charged for a late renewal in accordance with subpart L of this part. § 67.519 Application for waivers. An application fee is charged for waiver of original build evidence in accordance with subpart F of this part, or for waiver of bill of sale eligible for filing and recording in accordance with subpart E of this part. In cases where more than one waiver is required, each waiver application is subject to this fee. [CGD 89–007, CGD 89–007a, 58 FR 60266, Nov. 15, 1993, as amended by USCG–1998–4442, 63 FR 52191, Sept. 30, 1998] § 67.521 Application for new vessel determination. An application fee is charged for a new vessel determination in accordance with subpart M of this part. § 67.523 Application for wrecked vessel determination. An application fee is charged for a determination of whether a vessel is entitled to coastwise, Great Lakes, and
Reinstate Vessel Documentation
After that period, vessel owners cannot “renew” their documentation. However, they can reinstate it. Vessel owners can use this link to reinstate their US vessel documentation.
This only pertains to Federal documentation through the United States Coast Guard. In regards to State registration in Illinois, refer to Illinois laws and the appropriate governing body.
NOTE: FILING THIS APPLICATION DOES NOT ENTITLE A VESSEL TO DOCUMENTATION OR TO ANY CHANGES SOUGHT ON A CERTIFICATE OF DOCUMENTATION. OFFICIAL NUMBERS DESIGNATED ON THE BASIS OF THIS APPLICATION ARE NOT TRANSFERABLE. ONLY A CURRENT CERTIFICATE OF DOCUMENTATION IS VALID FOR VESSEL OPERATION.
After that period, vessel owners cannot “renew” their documentation. However, they can reinstate it. Vessel owners can use this link to reinstate their yacht documentation.
This only pertains to Federal documentation through the United States Coast Guard. In regards to State registration in Louisiana, refer to the rules and the appropriate governing body in the state.